London (CNN)Nations around the world are racing to identify how many cases of the Omicron Covid-19 variant they have, as fears over the new strain force governments to shutter borders and revisit restrictions.

The new mutation, which is potentially more transmissible, was first discovered in South Africa and has since been detected in several countries.Here’s a list of the places reporting cases so far. This will be updated.Australia: 2 cases Austria: 1 caseRead MoreBelgium: 1 caseBotswana: 19 casesCanada: 2 casesCzech Republic: 1 caseDenmark: 2 casesGermany: 3 casesHong Kong: 3 casesIsrael: 1 caseItaly: 1 caseNetherlands: 13 casesPortugal: 13 casesSouth Africa: 77 casesUnited Kingdom: 9 cases

Source Link: