Here’s a look at the life of John Thune, Republican senator and Senate majority whip from South Dakota.

PersonalBirth date: January 7, 1961Birth place: Pierre, South DakotaBirth name: John Randolph ThuneRead MoreFather: Harold Thune, school teacherMother: Yvonne ‘Pat’ (Bodine) Thune, librarianMarriage: Kimberley (Weems) Thune (1984-present)Children: Larissa, January 1990; Brittany, April 1987Education: Biola University, B.S. in Business Administration, 1983; University of South Dakota, M.B.A., 1984Religion: ProtestantTimeline1985-1987 – Legislative assistant for US Senator James Abdnor (R-South Dakota).1987-1989 – Special assistant for the US Small Business Administration.1989-1991 – Returns to South Dakota and serves as executive director for the South Dakota Republican Party.1991-1993 – Appointed South Dakota state railroad director by Governor George S. Mickelson (R-South Dakota).1993-1996 – Executive Director of South Dakota Municipal League.1996 – Elected to US House of Representatives.1997-2003 – Serves three terms in US House of Representatives for South Dakota.2002 – Runs for Senate against incumbent Democrat Tim Johnson but loses narrowly.2003-2004 – Works as lobbyist and consultant in Washington.January 2004 – Announces he will challenge Senate Majority Leader Tom Daschle (D-South Dakota) in the upcoming Senate race.November 2004 – Wins Senate seat for South Dakota, defeating Daschle.January 5, 2005 – Starts his term as US Senator for South Dakota.June 2009-January 2012 – Senate Republican Policy Committee chairman.November 2010 – Runs unopposed and wins re-election to the Senate.February 22, 2011 – Announces that he will not seek the Republican presidential nomination for 2012.December 13, 2011 – Elected Senate Republican Conference chairman and assumes the position on January 26, 2012.January 1, 2013 – Votes in favor of the bill to avert the fiscal cliff.November 13, 2014 – Re-elected chairman of the Senate Republican Conference.November 8, 2016 – Wins re-election to the US Senate.November 14, 2018 – Elected Senate Republican Whip.January 3, 2019 – Assumes position as Senate majority whip.

Source Link: