It wasn’t just the names of the candidates trending during and after Wednesday night’s Democratic presidential debate. NBC’s Chuck Todd, one of the moderators, also received plenty of attention on Twitter ― just not for the reasons he would want.

Many criticized Todd’s performance at the debate, the tone and substance of his questions, and one moment near the end when he asked each candidate to name the biggest “geopolitical” threat in a single word. For viewers hoping for more substantive debate, that didn’t sit well:

That Chuck Todd calls the part where he asks for a one-word answer on the biggest threat to the US the "best part" of a debate is… saying something

— James Poniewozik (@poniewozik) June 27, 2019

Is Chuck Todd just a machine that pushes out the stupidest and least relevant questions possible, designed solely to get bad sound bites and not offer any real information? I’ve been impressed with every other moderator but my god. #demdebate

— Jill Filipovic (@JillFilipovic) June 27, 2019

Everything Chuck Todd touches dies pic.twitter.com/JNK3HbZtZz

— Timothy Burke (@bubbaprog) June 27, 2019

There's something extremely fitting about everything going to shit the moment Chuck Todd shows up.

— Zach Heltzel (@zachheltzel) June 27, 2019

Chuck Todd: Who would you nuke and why? Three words or less.

— Adam Parkhomenko (@AdamParkhomenko) June 27, 2019

Omg Chuck Todd's framing of every question is essentially a conservative talking point. He is a goddamn disgrace. #DemDebate

— Melissa McEwan (@Shakestweetz) June 27, 2019

every time chuck todd talks #demdebate pic.twitter.com/mD1XH55Tg2

— Saladin Ahmed (@saladinahmed) June 27, 2019

Tonight is just another reminder that Chuck Todd is terrible.

— Melissa Ryan (@MelissaRyan) June 27, 2019

Rachel Maddow and Chuck Todd pic.twitter.com/hrakiWMoyJ

— Jemele Hill (@jemelehill) June 27, 2019

Of course the sound gets fucked up as soon as Chuck Todd rolls in, that guy is like if stepping on a rake were a whole personality

— andi zeisler (@andizeisler) June 27, 2019

"Thanks for all those one-word answers summing up your entire foreign policy orientations. And now, no follow ups, we're moving on." – Chuck Todd

— Matthew Gertz (@MattGertz) June 27, 2019

Chuck Todd: Now Republicans say you eat babies. Why do you eat babies. I’ll hold my pen and frown like a serious person while you answer.

— Adam Parkhomenko (@AdamParkhomenko) June 27, 2019

Chuck Todd asks terrible questions and these candidates are fools for answering them

— Audrey Watters (@audreywatters) June 27, 2019

Why is Chuck Todd so hell bent on speaking about ppl “coming for guns” – that’s not a Dem base issue. This is when I really miss Tim Russert the most. #DemDebate

— LeslieMac 🖤 (@LeslieMac) June 27, 2019

Of course Chuck Todd comes out on stage and everything goes to hell. Even the audio rebelled against him. #DemDebate

— shauna (@goldengateblond) June 27, 2019

i wanna hear warren's plan to deal with chuck todd

— Elon Green (@elongreen) June 27, 2019

Scientific evidence that Chuck Todd really needs to STFU. #DemDebate pic.twitter.com/k3E3QTjU0O

— Sister Celluloid (@sistercelluloid) June 27, 2019 Download REAL LIFE. REAL NEWS. REAL VOICES. Help us tell more of the stories that matter from voices that too often remain unheard. Join HuffPost Plus

Source Link:
https://www.huffpost.com/entry/chuck-todd-moderator_n_5d143771e4b0d0a2c0ab9211

[-0.648763]

Comments

comments

Advertisement